Living + Loving Downtown McKinney Texas

The Believe! 2013 10K in Photos

I’ve already saved all of my photos from the Believe! 2013 10K onto the blog’s Facebook page but these are many of them, auto-adjusted, and resized to fit on the blog.

The Christmas Tree Lighting ceremony was held on Friday night. It was difficult to get a shot of the goings on.  This was my best.  Using the flash only ended up giving me a shot of whoever was closest to me so I had to accept a slightly blurry image.  The ceremony started a little after 6 PM.  The children sang several Christmas songs and then they turned on the tree.

Tree Lighting Ceremony

Tree Lighting Ceremony

A friend and I walked down to the square around 7:30 Saturday morning to be in line for the 10K that was to start at 8:00.

Waiting for the Race to Begin

Waiting for the Race to Begin

The crowd for the 10K seemed smaller than I’ve seen it in years past but, back then, I was standing on the other side of the line, looking at a solid wall of the runners getting ready to start.  This year, I was in the back … with my camera, a little point and click that’s not too uncomfortable to carry on a long run.

Getting Ready for the 10K

Getting Ready for the 10K

When the gun went off, we started down Benge Street, heading towards Finch Park.

Heading Down Benge Street

Heading Down Benge Street

We skirted along the edge of Finch Park, going from Benge Street to Kentucky Street.

Going Along Edge of Finch Park

Going Along Edge of Finch Park

Then we ran down Kentucky Street and turned into a residential area sandwiched between Finch Park and Towne Lake Park.

Heading Down Kentucky Street

Heading Down Kentucky Street

I think that we actually ran right by one of my co-worker’s houses.

Through the Residential Area

Through the Residential Area

Then we turned onto a hike and bike trail that I did not know existed.  In fact, I saw a lot of things along this route that I didn’t know anything about.

Hike and Bike Trail

Hike and Bike Trail

It was a beautiful trail.

Through The Woods

Through The Woods

I wish I had a trail like this in my back yard.

Hike and Bike Trail

Hike and Bike Trail

The trail led straight to the Wilson Creek Softball and Baseball Complex.

Coming up to Wilson Creek Softball Complex

Coming up to Wilson Creek Softball Complex

We were finally up to a part of the route with which I was familiar.  We ran by the Wilson Creek Softball Complex to get to Towne Lake Park.

Passing Wilson Creek Softball Complex

Passing Wilson Creek Softball Complex

We crossed over the footbridge into Towne Lake Park.

Crossing the Footbridge

Crossing the Footbridge

Many of the leaves have fallen since my recent visit to Towne Lake Park.

Passing the Volleyball Courts

Passing the Volleyball Courts

It’s still a beautiful run through here though.

Running Around Towne Lake Park

Running Around Towne Lake Park

In 2009, I stood along this part of the path and clapped for the runners.

The Woods at Towne Lake Park

The Woods at Towne Lake Park

After looping Towne Lake Park, we headed back to the tunnel that runs under Wilson Creek Parkway that let the runners safely cross traffic.

Going Under Wilson Creek Parkway

Going Under Wilson Creek Parkway

We ran east along Wilson Creek for a little while and then looped back to head west back towards Towne Lake Park. This time we would run past the park and past the Cinemark 14 to its north.

Running Past the Cinemark 14

Running Past the Cinemark 14

The crowd had thinned around me by this point, indicating that I was falling behind.  I didn’t want to push myself, so I was kind of amazed when I saw, up ahead, a glut of runners.  I thought that I was catching up.  In fact, before I realized that this was the 5K turnaround, I thought that this was a loop of the 10K’ers.

The 5K Turnaround

The 5K Turnaround

Then, I remembered the 5K route.  This was the turnaround point for the 5K runners who, essentially, started from the finish line and ran to meet us before turning around.

The 5K Turnaround

The 5K Turnaround

We had one more water stop before heading into the final leg of the run.

The Last Water Stop

The Last Water Stop

And then we turned onto Louisiana Street for the last stretch to the finish line.

Turning Onto Louisiana Street

Turning Onto Louisiana Street

Up until this point, there hadn’t really been too many hills.  That was about to change.

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

The hills on Louisiana Street don’t look bad under normal circumstances, but seem like real doozies when they are part of your 6-mile finish.

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

Someone ran by and said that there were two more hills before the finish.  I thought that they were just being cruel.  I live here, after all.  I would know if there were two more hills. Turns out, he was right.  There was one by Caldwell Elementary.

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

And then there was another that led up to the finish line.

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

The Final Stretch Along Louisiana Street

In fact, the finish line was at the top of the last hill.

The Finish Line

The Finish Line

But, as far as being hilly, this run is nothing compared to the invisible mountain down in Dallas.  If you have run any of the longer races in Dallas, like the Hot Chocolate 15K, you’ll know about the mountain to which I am referring.  The topography just keeps going up. Still, that’s an exceptionally beautiful run, mountain or not, and I’ll do it again.  Just like this one.

I caught up with Frosty, the mascot of the Believe run, and my friend got my picture with him.  I had a great time and my official race time wasn’t too bad either. This was my second best finish at 1 hour and 11 minutes.  (My best finish ever was 1 hour and 9 minutes in the Run For Cover race last April).

I Believe!

I Believe!

What a great way to spend my long weekend!

For more great shots from downtown after the race, be sure to check out Toni Andrukaitis’s blog.

Until next time,

Happy Shopping!

2 Responses to “The Believe! 2013 10K in Photos”

  1. Molly Jones

    Beth, Thank you so much for your coverage of the race!! It was a gorgeous day with record breaking numbers. Waiting for the final tally!!
    Molly

    Reply
    • Beth Barton

      It really was one of the prettiest runs I’ve been in. I really enjoyed it and am glad to hear that overall attendance was up. I can see it becoming one of THE races in the area that everyone has to do every year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,628 other followers

