Photos from the 2011 Parade of Lights

I promised my husband when we went to see the parade that I was there just to enjoy it, not to take pictures.

I guess I lied.

A couple of minutes in and I just couldn’t resist myself.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

It was an excellent parade and I think several of my pictures came out quite well even though I have trouble taking pictures at night.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

I don’t think that this year’s parade was as long as last year’s but then last year’s parade seemed extraordinarily long (approximately 30 minutes).  There were fewer tumblers and, I think, fewer people on foot.  The floats were still just as awesome, possibly even better than last year.

Snow fell from the rooftop over The Local Yocal Market and created an exciting feel of Christmas for the children on the floats and parade watchers alike.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

A beautiful but very skittish horse was led between two lighted autos.

2011 ChristmasParade of Lights

2011 ChristmasParade of Lights

Troop 9323 had a beautiful “snow globe” themed float.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

I’m a sucker for patriotic displays. Mix that with Christmas and we had some real winners.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

The McKinney School of Rock float was a highlight of the parade. It has just opened on Louisiana Street in the strip center across from the First Baptist Church.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

I can’t wait to hear more about The McKinney School of Rock.

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

And, of course, there was Santa…

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

2011 Christmas Parade of Lights

Until next time,

Happy Shopping (& Merry Christmas)

Leave a comment

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS